• Compound Bets
  • Posts
  • ๐ŸŸฃ Why I'm Dropping out of University... for 1 Week

๐ŸŸฃ Why I'm Dropping out of University... for 1 Week

ZFellow acceptance & company rebranding

Hey I'm Matt, and welcome to my monthly newsletter for sharing my journey as I build a startup ๐Ÿ“ฌ

๐Ÿ†• Personal Updates

It's officially February (mid-February as I write this lol)! ๐Ÿฅ‡

January felt like a whole year for me, with lots of areas of personal improvement and growth.

In fact, I just got accepted into some of the most prestigious programs in North America with the most notable one being the ZFellows Program. Essentially it's a program where they will give you $10K to skip class or work for 1 week. I'm one of 10 people selected for the latest cohort.

I've also been accepted to the KERNEL Batch 05 (learning about Ethereum with a group of 400+ web3 enthusiasts), Crypto Culture and Society Batch 02 (learning about web3 tokenomics and DAOs), and Safary (learning web3 growth tactics from the best in the industry).

I've also successfully rebranded my company from BitPerks to Agora, hired 2 growth leads, and officially announced the new CTO of my company

I'm honestly really happy with where I am in life, and so I hope this trajectory continues throughout the year.

Right, letโ€™s get to it - time for this months roundup ๐Ÿš€

~ Matt

๐Ÿงฉ Web3 Pay-To-Learn

Recently got asked:

What's the best way to get started learning about crypto/web3?

I personally recommend looking into companies that are offering an incentive to learn about new blockchains and protocols. These are my 2 favourites:

๐Ÿ‡ Rabbithole โ€” rabbithole.gg

  • Earn crypto through discovering and using the latest crypto applications

๐Ÿ’Ž Layer3 โ€” alpha.layer3.xyz

  • Contribute to a DAO and earn crypto. Tweet, make memes, create YouTube tutorials, and more.

Both of these give you the option to LEARN and then EARN by contributing either to DAOs or crypto applications. Once you have the firm understanding of how cryptocurrencies work you can certainly expand beyond these options, but I think it's a great first option.

P.S. I also recommend getting a Coinbase account to manage your crypto portfolio

๐Ÿ’  My Favourite Things This Month

๐ŸŽฌ YouTube Video - The Problems with NFTs by Folding Ideas is a 2-hour video explaining the "damage" of NFTs. Very eye-opening concepts were brought up.

๐ŸŽง Audiobook -ย Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell. Always been fascinated by how to increase luck for success and this gives a great insight into how the best in the world (ex: Bill Gates) were able to move life in his favour. Very actionable advice throughout.

๐ŸŽง Audiobook - The Happiness Advantage by Shawn Achor. We are more successful the happier we are - not the other way around. Inner circles are so important to thrive in life.

๐ŸŽง Audiobook - The Third Door by Alex Banayan. Been obsessed with "success factors" this past month. This book dives into mentors and how to break into and dominate any industry.

๐Ÿ’ฌ Quote of the Month

โ€œPractice isn't the thing you do once you're good. It's the thing you do that makes you good.โ€

Until next month,

Matt | @mattespoz ๐Ÿ‘จ๐Ÿปโ€๐Ÿ’ป

Join the conversation

or to participate.